Appendix C
Open 4WD, CRS-2 & CRS-5 Class Rules

Open class cars are divided into three classes. Vehicles that are built to be capable of operating in four-wheel drive mode will be placed in 4wd class and cannot compete in CRS-2 or CRS-5. Two-wheel drive cars that were not designed to operate in four-wheel drive will be placed in either CRS-2 or CRS-5 and can not compete in Open 4wd. The table of adjustment multipliers below will be used to determine a vehicle's adjusted displacement. All factors that apply to a give vehicle will be used. As an example, a 4-valve engine with variable cam timing would have a total multiplier of 1.32 (based on 1.2 * 1.1). All 2WD vehicles with forced induction or a rotary engine will be placed CRS-5. Eligible vehicles with an adjusted displacement of no greater than 2400cc will be placed in CRS-2 while those above 2400cc will be placed in CRS-5.

Engine Characteristic Multiplier
4 valves per cylinder 1.2
3 valves per cylinder 1.1
Variable cam timing 1.1
Diesel Engine 0.8
Pushrod Engine 0.8